09/28/2018 - 10,888 views

Terror - Total Retaliation

139 reviews

The new Terror wastes no time getting you moving with a heavy chugging riff accompanied by frontman Scott Vogel's signature bark. The new record, Total Retaliation, is a total barn burner from front to back. While other bands have abandoned their heavier formulas in favor of something more accessible or maybe even commercial, Terror have continued to pump out riff heavy records that have cemented their place as heavy hitters in hardcore.

"One More Enemy" is a personal favorite of mine that features thrashy riffs and a catchy ass breakdown emphasized by Vogel's battle cry of ENEMY to initiate the chaos. The title track is a thrash metal assault on the ears, complete with ripping guitar solo and fast, palm muted main riff. "Post Armageddon Interlude" is a beat heavy, murder-centric hip hop track that offers a brief break from the aural beatdown.

"Spirit Of Sacrifice" begins with a lone bass line before erupting, and ends with a crossover style breakdown that will get metal and hardcore kids alike moshing in unison. "Behind The Bars" is a surefire favorite for the two steppers, complete with yet another thrashy solo before slowing down into another catchy breakdown riff.

Fact of the matter is, if you were a fan before you're gonna love this record. And if you're just dipping your toe in the heavy music pool, face your fucking fear and dive head first into this. Terror are out on tour in support of the new record now, and their main support in Harms Way just got robbed of EVERYTHING by some scumbags in Las Vegas so head out and support the tour. Total Retaliation is out now via Pure Noise Records.






Genre: Hardcore

Label: Pure Noise Records

Site: Related Link

Track Listing

  1. This World Never Wanted Me
  2. Mental Demolition
  3. Get Off My Back
  4. One More Enemy
  5. Break The Lock
  6. In Spite Of These Times
  7. Total Retaliation
  8. Post Armageddon Interlude
  9. Spirit Of Sacrifice
  10. I Don't Know You
  11. Behind The Bars
  12. Suffer The Edge Of The Lies
  13. Resistant To The Changes
Comments (3)
Crack Pie
9/29/2018 8:25:00 AM
Good record. Mostly what I'd expect from Terror, but with a few surprises. Very few hardcore bands do better.
9/29/2018 10:31:00 AM
What’s the production like? I feel like Terror is at their best when they sound raw. Always the hard way and keepers are my least favorite cause to me they just sound kinda sterile
9/29/2018 1:26:00 PM
Will Putney did it so if you're a fan of his work on the new vein and incendiary its on par, raw but punchy