forum General Crabbery ›› the crackdown on bullying gays ›› new reply Post Reply
-Jeremy-

gary
62,973 Posts
30/M/NA

offline   (21)
October 21 2010 12:24 PM   QuickQuote Quote  
It has really become very prominent in recent weeks in the media. What I'm wondering is why they seem to solely be focusing on gay kids being bullied. Yeah, that is a huge concern, but bullying in general is the biggest concern, not only bullying to GLBT people. The media should be addressing bullying in all facets, not just focusing on one demographic of young people.

I'd also like to mention how awful it must be growing up in junior high and high school these days and being bullied. I wasn't really bullied at all in high school, but I graduated right before facebook and social networking exploded into the mainstream. Now kids are bullied at school and go home only to get bullied even more on the internet by their peers. That is absolutely brutal.
cbrickhouse
vanilla gorilla
211,114 Posts
37/M/PA

online     (24)
October 21 2010 12:27 PM   QuickQuote Quote  
bullying turns people into spiteful assholes so i think something should be done. unfortunately, when school officials punish someone for bullying, then that makes the bullied a "pussy" and "narc" so in turn they probably get bullied more.
-Jeremy-
gary
62,973 Posts
30/M/NA

offline   (21)
October 21 2010 12:29 PM   QuickQuote Quote  
Originally posted by: cbrickhouse

bullying turns people into spiteful assholes so i think something should be done. unfortunately, when school officials punish someone for bullying, then that makes the bullied a "pussy" and "narc" so in turn they probably get bullied more.

Yeah I'm not sure what a solution is, but ultimately it's the responsibility of the parents not the schools.